African heads of state to consider Ethiopia’s report on governance

African heads of state to consider Ethiopia’s report on governance
Friday, 14 January 2011

Addis Ababa, January 14 (WIC) - Ethiopia’s review report in the areas of democracy and political governance, economic governance, corporate governance and management, and socio-economic development will be considered on 29 January 2011 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, at the 14th Forum of Heads of State and Government of African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) member countries.


According to a statement AU sent to WIC, the Report will be presented by Cameroonian lawyer and member of the Panel of Eminent Persons, Akere Muna.


Meles Zenawi, Prime Minister of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia and Chairman of the APR Forum, will also address the meeting before opening the floor for discussions.


The agenda also includes discussions with Presidents Jacob Zuma of South Africa, Goodluck Jonathan of Nigeria and the Prime Minister of Lesotho, Pakalitha Mosisili, on the manner in which their respective countries conducted the implementation process of their national plans of action in the areas of good governance and socio-economic development.


Per APRM regulations, reviewed countries must present a progress report on the various thematic areas under review.


The review reports of South Africa, Nigeria and Lesotho were considered in 2007, 2008 and 2009 respectively.  The 14th APR Forum will assess the progress made and recommend measures to be taken to improve good governance practices in the three countries.


The 13th Forum took place in Kampala, Uganda in July 2010. Mauritius’ Review Report was discussed at that meeting. The government of Mauritius was invited by the meeting to “Consolidate democracy by instituting reforms in the electoral system, strengthening the legal framework and ratifying the African Union Convention on the Control and Prevention of Corruption”.


Thirteen of the 29 APRM member countries have already completed their review process.  They are Ghana, Rwanda, Kenya, South Africa, Algeria, Benin, Uganda, Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Mali, Mozambique, Lesotho and Mauritius.


Established in 2003 under the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD), APRM is an instrument that is voluntarily acceded to by African Union (AU) member States.


A country formally joins by ratifying the African Union Declaration Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) adopted in Durban in July 2002.


The primary purpose of APRM is to foster the adoption of policies, standards and practices that lead to political stability, high economic growth, sustainable development and accelerated sub-regional and continental economic integration through sharing of experiences and reinforcement of successful and best practices.


Every review exercise carried out under the authority of the Mechanism must be technically competent, credible and free of political or diplomatic manipulation.


At the continental level, the Mechanism is run by three main institutions.


APRM currently has 29 member countries, 13 of which have already been reviewed.  The African Development Bank (ADB), the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) are its three main strategic partners.

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0

<div style="background-color: none transparent;"> <a href="" title="News Widget">News Widget</a> </div> - Blog Ping-Dienst, Blogmonitor

I heart FeedBurner

Add to Google Reader or Homepage

Powered by FeedBurner

Add to Google
Add to Google